Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

‘Open Heart Surgery’

“I had open heart surgery on the 7th November.
In a theatre, they opened my heart
And they fixed it. Yes, they fixed it.
Then they closed it:
And they stitched me up again.

But something happened.
I became sad, angry, melancholic, reflective, child-like and ancient - a whirlwind of the human experience.
My heart was opened and it decided to unleash all these things without my consent.

But now my heart is renewed;
Like a plot of earth when it has been rotovated for planting.
I seek the new, the unexplored, the unimaginable.

My heart was opened on an operating table
And now 2 months later,
I finally give it permission to stay open: to stay curious; to accept all that comes my way.
I want to march to the beat of my own heart”.

….. Jean McDonald. (Written for poetry circle in the People’s Park, Bray, January 1st, 2023)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.