Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Poinsettia

(2/1/23)

I'm still not 100% on the health front, so reckoned that working from home would be best. (I don't want to share my germs.) I did drive G to school and pick her up.

We decided to tackle the post office again to collect a replacement music box that Hilde sent. As happens too often here, something simple turns out to be really complex. The package is ready to be collected, but since our post office don't know where to find or read an invoice, they decided that as no value is written, it is worth 1,000 dirhams (£240), and I need to pay 50dhs to collect it!! I tried to stay calm but had to share my thoughts about the ridiculousness of that surmising.

The person I was dealing with realised it too, and said he would try to waive the charge. It took so long to get an answer back, so we left. As we turned into our car park, he phoned to say everything is sorted and I can come back and collect my music box. Argh! I didn't go back.

The post office box got renewed in the process. I can't remember renewing it so early - ever. A good evening at home. Much better than the afternoon! The poinsettias we bought yesterday have found their spot in the living room.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.