The fool on the hill

By mooncoin

Life in the key of A minor (catastrophe)

Yesterday evening I thought I'd take a quick hike up the hill and fly my toy aeroplane for an hour. No need to take a key because everyone else is in and getting ready to settle down for BGT and The Voice.
This morning I had great plans - ok not great plans. Just normal Monday plans. Then just before leaving the house to drop the kids of at school it was panic stations. I couldn't find my keys! After a fruitless search of all the usual places I had to take the car's spare and pinch Art's house key (on the black lanyard so I can tie it to his bag... so he doesn't lose it).
I texted B, I've lost my keys have you seen them?
No reply. I figured I must have inadvertently put them in my coat pocket and dropped them somewhere between the house and the top of the hill last night. So I trudged up the hill, spent half an hour in a howling gale trying to remember where I'd trod whilst flying my plane (you don't take much notice when you're looking skyward), Came back down keyless in the pouring rain and wrote the day's plans off and made plan B which involved counting my stock from the car. So I went out to the car with the car key but not Arthur's house key on the black lanyard. Guess what happened? Yes it did, no I hadn't and yes I did - quite profoundly and for what felt like several minutes. So I drove to B's school (after first nipping to the police station (closed!) and the Conservators office to alert them about a lost set of keys on Table Hill) and, after getting through all the security measures at the school I told B I needed her house key. And she probably thought dopey bugger and gave me her key and said that she'd seen me leave my keys on the kitchen table last night and had thought to herself that it wasn't a very safe place to leave them. So then I went back home and did my stock sort and then thought I'd better email the office and tell them I'd lost a car key and Sarah emailed back and said that if it doesn't turn up I will be liable to pay for a replacement. And then my mobile rang and it was B. And she said that my keys were in her bag all along. So when she thinks stuff like, those keys are vulnerable laying there on the kitchen table, what she really means is that she will, in all probability, pick them up and put them in her bag - and then not remember doing it...

It's Monday the thirteenth (which are even worse than Friday the thirteenths).

Someone once said that having no keys is a sign of complete freedom. I don't think it counts if you lose them though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.