My Sister . . . Maureen Dawn

. . .   15.10.1939 - 3.1.2023

The phone call I didn't want but did want came this morning.  I am relieved she is at peace.  I don't know what the day was like in Christchurch where she died but here it was a summers day with blue sky, a Monarch butterfly in my garden and busy bees on the flowers. Those  who have followed me for a while will know there must be some meaning in this blip.  I always blame it on listening to too much Bob Dylan.  The pottery bowl was made by  Barry Brickell a well known early New Zealand potter.  My sister and brother in law made a special trip to see his pottery at Driving Creek, Coromandel.  Although she didn't pot herself she was  a President of the Canterbury Potters Association, glazed her husbands work and taught mosaic classes.  Getting a bee in the photo was a piece of luck but perhaps a sign of arrivals and departures as it says in the last lines of the piece that follows:

In the rise of mists from the estuary
and the fall of rain,
In the movements of incoming and outgoing tides,
I see a reflection on the deepest mystery 
and most sustaining pattern in all of life.
That of arrival and departure,
of death and regeneration.                         Michael King

Back to the everyday.  We are going away for two nights to visit friends with a bach/holiday cottage and I am not going to blip but of course will be taking the camera.  It is beside Endeavour Inlet where the bush and the sea meet.  I will catch up again on Friday.  Thanks for the reaction to the records in yesterdays blip.  I will now be keeping them.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.