Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Back

We have had no home phone or internet for over a week. No matter how many times I’ve explained this to my Mum she can’t retain new information so she was panicking every day when she couldn’t get through on the landline (she wouldn’t think to ring the mobile), then she’d somehow blocked my number on her phone so I’ve had to send a family friend round to unblock me! I think her days of being able to use her mobile phone are sadly numbered now.

Besides that we have - horror of horrors - had to watch terrestrial TV. Also discovered that Alexa won’t do anything offline, not even set a timer - and realised how incredibly lazy I’ve become. This morning a lovely engineer turned up and has reconnected us - it’s really quite scary how dependent we are on two little copper wires.

The three green lights on the router are a very welcome sight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.