Welcome Milk, Cookie, Scones and Cake

Thank you! Thank you! Thank you for all of your kind words, stars, hearts and the spotlight yesterday! It is now my highest rated blip ever! WOW!

Tea had her babies today and eventually both mum and babies seem to be doing well.

Tea had a small dose of probiotics every 2nd hour yesterday and again this morning. I was still worried about her when I left her to go to school, so I came home an hour early to check on her.

I came home just as she gave birth to her first baby! I kept an eye on her and all seemed to be going well, so I left her in peace and trained dogs. I came in between each dog to check on her and she did well.

It took less than an hour for her to give birth to all 4 babies. When I was sure she was ok, I left her and took the boys for a walk.

When I came home from the walk, I checked on Tea again and she seemed overwhelmed by the situation. Her babies were left alone in a pile and Tea was snuggling up with one of the other guinea pigs.

I thought Tea needed a break from the other guinea pigs and time to bond with her babies, so I made a nice and comfy box for her. Not big enough for her to leave her babies, but big enough to move around a bit. I think it has worked. She is eating well and she is looking after her babies. I think I will keep her in her box for a couple of days and then see if she is ready to go back to her friends with her babies.

Tea had 4 babies. They are all curley coated and tiny compared to the size Brunch's babies had, when they were newborn, but they are very lively, so I think they will be just fine. I have called them: Milk, Cookie, Cake and Scones :-)

Phew! What a day!
Emmy and the Hazyland Boys

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.