On The Road

At 08.30, phoned the first notary public.  No time to see me today.  Right away, phoned the second notary public.  No time to see me today either.  Both suggested Wednesday afternoon, at the earliest.  I tentatively agreed.  Surely, after printing out all the documents yesterday, I was not going to just take 'No' for an answer?  After a bit of hesitation, phoned the third notary public.  No, they did not have any notarial services in town, but they did, and do, offer this service in Eindhoven.  Would it be possible for me to go there?  Of course!  So I asked if I could make an appointment today?  They gave the best answer -- 'Yes!'

14.30 -- At Eindhoven, where they witnessed me affixing my signature.
After that, I had to drive back to have the documents apostilled.
15.20 -- At the courthouse here in town, where it was all done in 15 minutes.
17.45 -- At the DHL offices, where I finally sent the entire bundle to MNL, to the Viking's address.

I'd actually gone to DHL earlier, but the guy in the Receiving area had not even had time for lunch, so he was out for a break.  I left again to return to the courthouse because I thought they'd forgotten to give me back my driving license, or that I'd forgotten to ask it back.  By that time, said courthouse was already closed.  Filled up the tank then went back home to check the Viking's address, as home was around the corner, but I need not have worried as I already had it in my phone.  Back to DHL, and it was good that I checked the address because they had just installed an update in their system and all stored information was gone.  On my way back home, who should phone but the notary public in Eindhoven -- 'I forgot to give you back your driving license!'  We agreed on how to get it sent back to me.  Issue solved.

What was tiring today was not the running around (Teqla's job, right?) but the stress connected to said documents, among which was my defence against the Opposition's accusations.  The Viking is admirably relaxed with regards to our arguments, although he did have to burn a ton of midnight oil to get it all done in time.  We have a deadline, and my having been able to send everything today via special courier means we will meet this deadline without issue.

A lazy evening followed, during which both AW and I polished off the bottle of white wine we uncorked on New Year's Eve.

The shot was taken on the A58 on my way back home from Eindhoven.
'Eindhoven' = 'Aaint-ho-vun'

THANK YOU / HARTELIJK BEDANKT for all the New Year wishes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.