West Coaster

By WestCoaster

Aspiration

Aspiration by Keith McCarter is a sculpture that stands in the Riverside Business Park. I am not a fan of modern architecture, I much prefer the beautiful lines of the old traditional buildings not for me the steel and glass of the modernist tradition.

I do however like a lot of modern sculpture, I like its accessibility, its simplicity and its tactile nature, this installation stands at the side of the business park, the old building too made over and resplendent in its new role. I like the simple lines and the sharpness against the glimpse of blue sky juxtaposed against the undulating texture of the stonework behind

I saw a tweet recently from a newly qualified solicitor who reckoned that as a student she wrote 1,000,000 words a year I poo pooed this until I sat and thought about it, I transcribe all my lectures they average about 17,500 words so 50 lecture a year plus study notes, tutorial and essays and It really cannot be far off that total, I was stunned!!!!!

I like to write, I am not materialistic in any way but my one vice is a nice heavy pen so I particularly like the subject matter today... Enjoy!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.