Malawi

I bought myself a couple of pieces of special jewellery with some Christmas money.

I have this elephant bracelet and another featuring a penguin called Braveheart.

You buy a bracelet (I had a code for buy one get one free between Christmas & New Year) and with it comes a postcard with your featured animal and a QR code. When you register your bracelet(s) you can track your chosen animal as they have been chipped by relevant wildlife charities/research teams. In this case Save The Elephants and the Global Penguin Society.

I was very concerned at first, as though Braveheart had obviously been travelling very recently, but, Malawi hadn't been tracked for a few months. 

However, when I checked the app today, her movement date had moved since last week...turns out that some of the protected species are put on a tracker delay to the public (in this case 4 months) for poaching protection. The care and research teams have her live data of course :) 

I may get myself a turtle or a polar bear for my birthday in a couple of months! There are a few options on stones/colours too which makes them even more interesting.

If anyone's interested in this type of thing, the company coordinating these is called Fahlo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.