Whiteout

Backblip 2/11.

I was scheduled to fly out of Detroit this morning and arrive in Oregon around 5 p.m. Then I'd drive to my mom's place, surprising her for the holidays.

That didn't happen. On our way to the airport, I got a text that my flight had been canceled. The intense winter storm that we caught yesterday caused thousands of flight cancellations. Southwest Airlines, my preferred airline, was the worst hit.

Jill and I continued to the airport to see if I could reschedule. The next flight was Tuesday, the 27th, at night, arriving the next morning. We decide that was fine. I'd still get to see my mom.

Great. Now I had to spend Christmas with my mother-in-law, the angriest person I've ever known. 

This photo is of the control tower as we walked back to Jill's car after rescheduling my flights.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.