Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Carousel

Each year, friends and I take part in a Christmas crafting challenge. We each send a random item to everyone else in the group and retain one for ourselves. We then have two months to create a craft item incorporating the different items and send / deliver the completed creation to the recipient drawn in the 'lucky dip' earlier in the year. One can create anything one wishes as long as each of the original items is used somewhere.

This year's items (actually that should be last year's, shouldn't it?) were two plant labels, five playing cards, a small hair clasp, a small plastic trumpet, a cheap plastic champagne flute, a small and a larger elastic band, a piece of coloured chalk, a small plastic flower and a Pampers-style nappy (unused!)
I did say it was random!

On New Year's Day, when we all get together and later in the evening, we have 'the great reveal' when we all display the craft item we received. There is much ooh-ing and ahh-ing at the ingenuity and skill that has gone into the different creations and then we have a try at guessing who made each item. There's also a 'Eurovision Song Contest-type' vote to choose our favourite item from those on display. I usually finish bottom of the pile since I am not 'crafty' in the slightest, but it's all for fun and we have a good laugh when we look at some of the things people come up with.

Anyway, today's Blip is of the craft item I received in December and which was shown to the group of us on Ne'erday. It was, as I discovered, made by my friend Anne and is quite a clever creation. I photographed it tonight just before I started packing away my decorations, etc. for another year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.