isbiJG

By isbiJG

Graythwaite

I was killing some time in the city this afternoon so I paid a visit to my old school overlooking the harbour in North Sydney.
Graythwaite is a large heritage listed house built in 1858. It’s now owned by the school but when I was there in the 1960s, it was a convalescent home for WW1 veterans. There was only a low fence between Graythwaite and our playground so we regularly jumped the fence to retrieve footballs and cricket balls leading to plenty of brief conversations with the old diggers usually concerning which bush the ball had landed in.
I wish I could go back in time and sit with them for the whole day and absorb some of their stories. These guys were at Gallipoli, Beersheba, Pozieres, Bullecourt and Fromelles!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.