Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Immigrant or Emigrant?

Managed to get my car to do the 5 km trip to Ottobeuren to stock up on food. I'm having problems getting a garage to look at my 1998 €300 VW Polo that is now just 3 months away from the scrap heap when its MoT (TÜV) runs out. I can understand the hesitancy but it really is vital to me to keep mobile for a few more months.

As I left the supermarket car park (Norma, in the background), I noticed the glaring GB number plate on the forecourt of a small used car dealer/garage. For years seen the odd GB registered car here and so today decided to have a closer look. The Maserati from 2014 with 88,000 miles was on offer for €19,500. There was also a nice looking Citroën van .but without a price or any details.

There was nobody about, so couldn't ask why a car dealer in a one horse hick town like Ottobeuren would be offering RHD cars. Absolutely no suggestion they are in any way 'illegal', stolen etc, a check of the UK records show no problems with either. Are they UK people who migrate to Germany and then simply off load their cars? I could understand it better if they on sale in a major city, especially in the north of Germany, where traditionally more Brits have settled.

Mystery to be solved, hopefully one day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.