movableparts

By MovableParts

Nature Center/East Pond Quandary

Should I snap a quick shot and leave?  Go on my merry walk?
Should I stand here and contemplate the nature of the land, the mountains, the weather?  It’s all so alluring.*
 
I stand. I breathe. I stretch.

The cloud ceiling and underbelly flow very low today,
Colliding into the Sandias, mashing up against the mountains
whose snow skirt has slipped down below her hips.
 
A cloud crowd forms.
Hypnotized, I snap shot after shot.
Then Stop!
Breathe…Stand.…Stretch……....

Over time,
Icy winds increase from the northwest.
The test: take flight or freeze.

Moving toward the river,
Sandhill Cranes speak to each other in guttural phrases
A murder of crows chorus a caw-caw-phony
A gaggle of geese whoosh overhead.

* (best on black)
Thank you so much Rock Area for hosting this weather related Wide on Wednesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.