The Way of Water

The Weeknd - Nothing Is Lost (You Give Me Strength)

Last day of the holidays. Finally got to see Avatar: The Way of Water, already climbing to the top spot of biggest cinematic earnings of all time. Sheesh.

The story and logic was meh (not surprised) but the special effects, attention to visual detail, sound, editing and immersion into the Avatar environment was out of the world. Saw it in 3D IMAX and was worth the admission. It was eye popping from start to finish and enjoyable for that reason.

Like Top Gun: Maverick, it was unnecessary but very necessary for giving the movie going crowds top shelf Hollywood entertainment. It felt big, it felt expensive, it felt like I could forget the everyday for a few hours. Like actually going to the movies.

A lot of movies last year felt so disposable, another rung in the chain of plastic episodic world/franchise building or snow-flakey pretentious drivel preaching sanctimonious messages for and by a small audience. Dunno, that’s perhaps what people on YouTube are telling me, further blocking my own view on things. Whatever, I’ll enjoy what I want, Avatar 2 was worth the money and time.

I don’t know anyone who is actually a hardcore Avatar fan, no one. Anecdotal, sure, and the box office and home copy sales certainly prove otherwise, but I’m sure you’ve met very emotional Star Wars fans, Lord of the Rings nuts, enthusiastic Trekkies, Marvel and DC comic nerds, and the Matrix freak here and there, but not an Avatar fan. Dunno, I’m probably in the wrong circles, hell, I went to see The Matrix: Resurrections and spend my time thinking and going on about it for hours! Probably haven’t made room (or need to) for Avatar-fandom. Don’t really want to though.

Saw a bunch of movies these holidays. Scream 5 which was really good, surprisingly so much better than expected with updated references and a reinvigorated formula. The Barbarian (twice), loved this movie, exciting, unpredictable and scary. Escape To Witch Mountain, just wanted to see what it was like and was pleasantly taken down into a time capsule. Strange World which had great animation but a very average story. Same with Buzz Lightyear. The animation was amazing but the story didn’t have spark.

It’s nice to escape for a while. I’m very lucky I’m able to afford these pleasurable things. Whether the film was bad or good, I’m just happy I can do it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.