Abstract Thursday

There's no set theme for AT this week so I thought I'd do something topical.

UK blippers will know that our Prime Minister has just given a speech where he described his aspirations for the coming year. He's keen that all schoolkids should study "maths" up to the age of 18. I hope he means that they should leave school with good standards of numeracy and a reasonable grasp of how to interpret statistics so as not to be too easily confused by spurious false data and conclusions.

Anyway this set me thinking of how I don't find complex mathematical equations easy to follow - my eyes tend to glaze over and my brain goes into a spin. (I did do well in Additional Maths at O-level at age 15 but that was "n" years ago where "n" is a rather large number!) Having a son with a PhD in Pure Mathematics rather shows up my inadequacies in this sphere!

Anyway, this is an abstract representation of how I feel when presented with a page of formulae. I found it on the web, printed it out, photographed it and then messed around with it!

Thanks so much to Ingeborg for continuing to host this fab challenge.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.