Begonia

Until yesterday this potted begonia had a large fully-out flower. I was looking forward to blipping it for flower Friday but sadly it got knocked off in the driving rain which started overnight and has persisted all day.

What we have left is a bunch of buds in various stages of development. I'll have another go at snapping them as they continue to bloom. In the meantime, I'm quite partial to the buds and the odd blush they show. And then there's the foliage, particularly lovely on this one. 

Begonias are monoecious, meaning that each flower is either male or female, unlike most flowering plants which have both male and female parts within the one flower. I know how to sex a begonia flower, but not while in bud. Watch this space.

Thanks for hosting BikerBear. I wish I'd bought shares in gumboots (wellies to most of you). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.