CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Jubilee footbridge near Griffin's Mill lock

I drove down to Stroud Brewery to stretch my legs. I've been getting very lazy and I thought a stroll along the towpath would be a good way to start exercising again.

I was pleased to see that boats had started to moor on the bank of the canal having made their way up through the locks. It won’t be more than a year or two before this spot is linked to the whole national waterway network.

This lattice iron work bridge is believed to have been constructed for the Golden Jubilee of Queen Victoria in 1867, although a later date of 1903 is also a possibility. The bridge has been maintained for many years by the Cotswold Canals Trust who are instrumental in the regeneration of this former Thames and Severn Canal which is about a mile upstream from Stroud town centre.

The River Frome flows about thirty yards to the right of this picture slightly lower down the hillside. There are many paths going from the tops of the hillsides all away along the Golden Valley. I think that the canal companies had to build bridges for the footpaths over the canal as they are ancient route ways across the valleys. This bridge goes to a foot crossing over the main railway line which is just out of sight on the bank to the left.

I spotted this pair of mallard ducks eating on the reeds, which I’ve added as an ‘Extra’. They seem to be already pairing off for the spring mating season. I was delighted by how many ducks and coots were swimming and grazing on the canal. they looked to be in good health.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.