Marionb

By Marionb

Saved by the books...

..from being immersed in a totally medical day... I am SO tired of medical days... 

I started the day with a doctor appointment in the morning and ended it in the evening with a physio session. Fun wow. However, I really need to get serious about dealing with my hip and back problems as they are becoming a mobility issue; and a mobility issue is the last thing I will need this spring when traipsing through medieval villages on cobblestone streets...villages that are usually perched on hills! 

So the fun began tonight with a physio consultation, an ultrasound treatment and homework of some very easy peasy stretching exercises ...to ease me into the more painful ones? hmmmm.. Whatever.. I will just have to force myself to stay with the program...just in case it actually works! 

Meanwhile, a load of library books had been piling up around me as my "holds" were again coming in all at once, and there they were ...ready to provide the escape I needed from medical woes, but where to start? Which book?

I chose The Book Woman's Daughter, the sequel to The Book Woman of Troublesome Creek by Kim Michele Richardson that I had recently  finished for book club..I figured it would be best to read it while the first one was fresh in my mind... my mind does not hold as much as it used to!

The other two were recommended in a librarian's book talk I went to a while back... The Believer, by Sarah Krasnostein, is our next book club choice.. and The Christie Affair, by Nina de Gramont interested me as well; I had already read a book on Agatha's famous disappearance, but was reassured by the presenter that in this one, the tale is told from a different point of view and a good read. So..worth a try...why not?

Don't you just love books? 

Quote on the flyleaf of today's book...

"Show me a family of readers and I will show you the people who move the world".   Napoleon Bonaparte

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.