Here we go again!

By MI

Galette des rois

I've been a lousy, erratic blipper lately... not only have the holidays and our houseguests made our days very full, J and I were also out with a stomach flu on the 4th and 5th. Then, yesterday when I had this blip all ready to post, the internet cut out and it disappeared! We were already feeling much better yesterday, when I took this photo of J, Ch and Th with our galette on Ch's last night with us. Ch got the first fève of this large galette which we intended to share with R's family until we got sick. Instead, Ch, Th and M had it on the 5th... apparently there is still a second fève in it and we are waiting in suspense to see who will get it.

M left in the morning of the 6th as scheduled. We were sad to see him go after a very nice visit! Ch was supposed to share an uber with him to CDG but her flight was delayed by 24 hours. Fortunately, the delay didn't inconvenience her too much and we felt lucky to have a bonus day with her. I still wasn't up to going out, but she and Th headed to the Marais for felafel at "L'As du felafel" and some souvenir shopping on "les grands boulevards". We played a fun timeline game together that they picked up in the evening and had another good Picard soup, a favourite of Ch's (and mine).

I had a work meeting in the evening with a frustratingly bad internet connection. My dear colleagues in Guelph are dealing with a very sad situation and I feel bad being so far away. As ever, I am in admiration of them and feeling fortunate to work -- and to have worked for so long -- with such a wonderful group of people. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.