Silver Pair Cased Watch...

Just when I thought I was better I'm not! This morning after a terrible night I felt dreadful... So haven't done much today except photograph this watch.

It was made by Eaton of London 1770-1800 and the silver case is hallmarked 1826, later it was serviced and or repaired by Robert Currer of Falkirk and again after that by William Muir of Falkirk, successor to Currer. The history of the watch is recorded by slips of paper inside the case.

Apparently it's best described as a pair cased verge fusee pocket watch with a bullseye crystal. (That's why the hands of the watch look distorted.) When I acquired the watch the fusee chain was broken, I was lucky to get it repaired and serviced by Brian in his little shop 'Small Gifts' on Linton High Street. Brian has retired now and the shop has gone but this watch is still running.


By the way, Margaret is now much recovered.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.