Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Water Droplet Woes

Today I dug out the water valve kit to try my hand. However, it turned out to be a rather frustrating experience.  The main issue was that I couldn't get the flash to fire. After some internet search I eventually discovered that my old speedlight will only fire if connected to the Canon R6 camera hotshoe - bummer (more expense with a new flash or radio trigger required!)  Anyway, eventually I started to get get some results, but realised the valve needed to be higher to achieve bouncing droplets, so reset and hooray finally starting to get what I was expecting albeit out of focus; and easy fix.  Only then I knocked the tripod holding the valve and it all collapsed with water everywhere.  At which point I gave up for this session.

This was one which I got more by accident from one of my early attempts. Not a true example of the genre, but it does show promise of what I should be able to achieve once everything is dried out and I can have another go!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.