Every Picture Tells .....

By ROBERT10

Fifty Years Ago.....

SUNDAY

Exactly fifty years ago on 8 January 1973 in Huddersfield,  I passed my driving test at the first attempt in my Dad's Hillman Hunter Super. 

I had started driving on my 17th birthday the previous September and put in for my test the following month. At the time, there was a 12-week wait for tests. My Dad was really enthusiastic and let me drive his car down to London and back on L-plates during the October school half-term. We obtained an AA route planner which took us the scenic route and avoided motorways. Whilst in London, we went to the Motor Show at Earls Court where I probably picked up this car brochure. Those were the days.

I guess I have since driven over 600,000 miles and have managed to keep a clean licence throughout.

I have now found a photo of the actual car which I have added in the extra. Dad was driving it and I was following him in my Hillman Imp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.