Overspill on River Frome near Ham Mill

I walked through the rather dense woodland beside the River Frome. Few people visit here as it is tucked away behind various old buildings and separated from other parts by the old leets which took water to Ham Mill's waterwheels in centuries past.

I came here a couple of years ago and stood beside the river just when an otter decided to swim downstream. It was wonderful because the otter seemed unfrightened of me being so close, and stopped, turned towards me and we eyeballed each other for a few long seconds. It was magical to have such direct eye contact with a wild animal. I did wonder whether I'd see it here again, but of course really didn't expect to.

This is a small overspill to the original river's path. The higher river level carries the water to what is left of the mill race, which I've never seen as it is in private grounds. There is a lot of water flowing at present because of recent winter rains.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.