Beech Mtn. Valley Trail

Still there was beauty in my walks; the brook,
Bordered with sparkling frost-work, was as gay
As with its fringe of summer flowers. Afar,
The village with its spires, the path of streams
And dim receding valleys, hid before
By interposing trees, lay visible
Through the bare grove, and my familiar haunts
Seemed new to me. Nor was I slow to come
Among them, when the clouds, from their still skirts,
Had shaken down on earth the feathery snow,
And all was white. The pure keen air abroad,
Albeit it breathed no scent of herb, nor heard
Love-call of bird nor merry hum of bee,
Was not the air of death. Bright mosses crept
Over the spotted trunks, and the close buds,
That lay along the boughs, instinct with life,
Patient, and waiting the soft breath of Spring,
Feared not the piercing spirit of the North.
The snow-bird twittered on the beechen bough,
And ’neath the hemlock, whose thick branches bent
Beneath its bright cold burden, and kept dry
A circle, on the earth, of withered leaves,
The partridge found a shelter. Through the snow
The rabbit sprang away. The lighter track
Of fox, and the raccoon’s broad path, were there,
Crossing each other. From his hollow tree
The squirrel was abroad, gathering the nuts
Just fallen, that asked the winter cold and sway
Of winter blast, to shake them from their hold.


from A Winter Piece, by William Cullen Bryant


I wasn't sure where I wanted to go this morning, so I looked at my entry on this day last year for inspiration. Since I had just gone up Beech Mountain via the West Face trail yesterday, it seemed like a nice idea to go on the Valley Trail around the east side of the mountain today. I decided against going to the top today and turned around in the upper lot, which is closed in winter. I included an extra I took there because I thought the two photos made an interesting juxtaposition. Of note was the sighting of a fox sparrow (twice), which I would classify as very unusual for this time of year.

I included the first part of this poem the other day.

Edit: A Winter Piece Part III

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.