Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Skink

Identification - Eutropis multifasciata, sun skink.

The pickings were rather slim on today's safari, not that there wasn't plenty to see, I just couldn't get close to the good stuff. I saw a very large otter, scrambling up a 15' vertical bank. It seemed to be panicking somewhat, probably because it had seen me. It slipped down a couple of times, but still no shot opportunity.

At some distance, I saw a couple of tree shrews. They look like squirrels and are extremely shy. I still haven't been able to get a decent shot of one.

A very colorful crow type bird. The only time you see this bird is when it sees you and flies away, obviously too late by then, as the camera is set-up for bug macros.

The only way that I am likely to generate opportunities with the otters, shrews and birds, is to set up a hide, but with only a 105 in my armory of lens', this is hardly worth it.

Plenty of exotic butterflies, including a common jay, which I have yet to add to my collection. The dragon flies are starting to dog fight, so a mating period is about to start, with egg laying photo opportunities approaching.

I don't remember seeing this many skinks before. Usually a see a dozen or so, but today I must have seen 30 or more and was able to get down for shots of three.

I have just been doing some blip image organizing. Have a guess which species/family I have blipped the most - the prize, a Vman safari, travel and accommodation not included - answer tomorrow.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.