Marsupium Photography

By magi

last chance to use

The days of the public telephone are counted in Germany. I believe they will get retired by the end of February. I can't remember the last time I used one. But I very well remember going through phone cards with 50DM credit on them in no time phoning my girlfriend in England in the 90ies. I also remember patiently queueing outside the phone boxes in the Meadows because we didn't have a phone that could make calls. 

Work at CVK. I finally figured out why some jobs mysteriously failed with a bus error. Turns out that other jobs filled up the RAM disk (on systems with 512GB of memory) without cleaning up after themselves and the new jobs failing to allocate enough memory. A fix is in the pipeline.

The wee internet radio in the kitchen was too old to get a decent wifi signal so I was looking for a replacement. I couldn't tell if the internet radios would also stream music from a local server. I ended up buying a smart speaker (without voice control). It was quite a faff to setup but now it works very well. Let's see how long that will last until it becomes obsolete. I still very much like the squeezebox system that I have been running for over 15 years. Sadly no new devices are made and raspberry pis are still unavailable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.