*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

Life on the Edge

Finished my first 'Love Blippin' Books' (#LBB1) novel last night. The January prompt is 'Revisit an Old Favourite' and I chose The Weirdstone of Brisingamen by Alan Garner.

I first discovered the book when there was a BBC dramatisation on the radio and was immediately hooked, taped it from the radio each week and listened to it loads. I remember loving the book when I read it (and novels are always extra special when there's a map at the beginning) but have never revisited it again until now. My parents even took me to Alderley Edge when I was a tween to see where the novel was set. It's another place I'd love to go back to. Today's blip is of me sitting on 'The Edge' taken by my dad. It's a very happy memory, we had a lovely mini holiday in Cheshire :-)

I truly loved the book as much the second time as I did the first, maybe even more so because I wasn't expecting to like it as an adult (perhaps I don't really have an adult brain though?) It's very Hobbit-y but that's not a criticism. Thought it was exciting (just the right amount of 'peril'!) and not sickly sweet like a lot of kids' books are... it's a novel that grown-ups can enjoy. It's well-written and brilliant how he writes Gowther Mossock's dialogue with a northern accent, I could almost hear him in my head (nobbut = nothing but etc.) All-in-all I thoroughly enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone who enjoys wizardy books in the vein of J.R.R. Tolkien and the later Harry Potter books. If you suffer from claustrophobia though, be warned!

An uninterrupted view from the Edge is on my film journal here.

I've decided to revisit other books throughout January, as many as I can fit in. Decisions, decisions... there are so many to choose! 

My parcel from Laura in Colorado finally arrived today - I was overwhelmed by it - so many lovely, magical things. It was like a second Christmas, made my day.

A reminder about Love Blippin' Books...
January Prompt: Revisit a Favourite
January Tag: LBB1
How to take part: Choose a book/s from the monthly prompt and tag a little write up or your thoughts/whether you recommend etc. when you've finished (link it to your day's photo if you want to). It doesn't matter if you use the January tag in March or whenever you finish. Audio books count, as do graphic novels, children's/YA, poetry, non-fiction etc. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.