Tykky

By Tykky

Never surrender, ha!

This is the only picture I took today. I was on a photo shoot somewhere in the snowy "hills" of Lapland, and it was beautiful, and serene, and quiet, and THIS PFFFF CAMERA decided to freak out.

Granted, the camera is a bit older, but the faults took on comedic dimensions:
First, it refused to focus. Then it focused on everything, except for anything that made sense.
The manual focus was barely visible and not really usable with walking "models", even at a larger aperture.
So, back to AF. Weeeeell, the AF suddenly took several seconds just to focus, and still selected random things. A portrait, a face filling the screen, and it would focus on the very interesting twig 15 meters behind. Even manual selection did not work. Not even my very experienced coworker had any idea what was happening or could fix it.

After some tinkering the best thing happened: CANON didn't like the cold, and the interface was freaking out. Suddenly I got a prompt "Do you want to format the SD card? Cancel / OK."
I pressed Cancel.
"Formating SD card, please wait." I was laughing my behind off at this point.
So what was next? It refused to take pictures for no reason at all. Oh, that was so good, comedic.

I tinkered for more than 2 hours, tried every imaginable setting until I found SOME thing that worked. Somehow going to BULB mode and back to manual worked. I have no idea why hahaha

As a celebration (or in reality, to safe the settings,) I took a picture of the settings. This is this picture.



I had a lot lot lot of laughing through my visibly annoyed and frustrated face.
Me 1:0 Technology.

Maybe there is a lesson in this to laugh at really stupid challenges and the random stones the universe throws in our way - and to never give up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.