Bone scan

I was in a bone scan today, and it is quite a procedure!  First I got radioactive tracer injection. Then I had to wait 2,5 hours and drink plenty of  water. Then I had a scan, where I lied down still  45 minutes wrapped into a tight fabric. This was the third bone scan that was done to me. This time the operation was done to study harm that metastasis has done in my back bone. Aching back has limited my life some time already.

Took the photo from the window of hospital's cafe, next to my seat.

A bone scan is a type of nuclear radiology procedure. The radioactive substance, a radionuclide, will collect within the bone tissue at spots of abnormal physical and chemical change. The radionuclide emits a type of radiation, called gamma radiation. The gamma radiation is detected by a scanner, which processes the information into a picture of the bones. The areas where the radionuclide collects are called hot spots, and may indicate the presence of conditions such as arthritis , malignant (cancerous) bone tumors , metastatic bone cancer, bone infections , bone trauma not seen on ordinary X-rays, and other conditions of the bone.

So, I spent more than 4 hours in the hospital. From there I went to Varala for my water exercise.

In the evening hubby crawled into a low space under the roof to do pre- installation work for the 5G broadband internet connection device that will be installed to our antenna tomorrow. Difficult job well done!



-5 C, snowfall

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.