Ramblings of an Academic

By RozWM

Tuesday means Guides

In school term time Tuesday evening usually finds me with somewhere between 20 & 28 10-14 year old girls. I have been involved in Guiding since I became a Brownie at 8. I became an adult leader at 18 (so 30 years ago this year) although it has been on/off. I still have nearly 24 years of service to the organisation.

As a teenager it was my safe female space given I was in a minority in school. To this day it is one of my main female friendship groups give I am an electronic engineer by profession.

Tonight was hard - first meeting since my Granny died on 19th Dec. She is the reason I am a third generation guider so it isn’t easy at moment. Girls do not know although fellow leaders do.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.