Trio

It was a day that seemed more April than May. Cool, breezy, with frost predicted overnight. My husband seized the opportunity to head out for a solo one-night backpack journey while I stayed home, for a change.

I was working at home during the day, being kept good company by the Tabby, of course. And when my day ended, I had numerous household tasks planned before settling in for a weekly treat: watching Dancing With the Stars (my Monday night favorite) on TV.

I accomplished my tasks, and with a few minutes to spare, I walked out into the yard, only to find the late-day sun lighting up Gremlin's Meadow with a lovely golden glow. (A wider view of the meadow, as well as the story of how it got its name, can be found here.)

I have mentioned that several years ago, I planted hundreds of tulips at the front of the meadow. Only a few of them still come up each year, and I am always glad to see them. On this day, several of the blooms were backlit by late-day sun, and I couldn't resist the opportunity to take a few shots with the camera.

As I knelt down to take this picture, I heard the whir of tiny wings. And as I sat kneeling, a male ruby-throat hummingbird came by to take a drink from the nearby feeder. (If any of the shots had been clear, that might have been today's blip. But alas, my angle wasn't so great. Maybe next time.) I saw the red flash of his throat in the light, and was happy to have his company. I knew he would need sustenance for the cold night ahead.

When he flew away, I took a few more shots of the tulips. The tulip in the middle seemed to me in both shape and color to resemble a heart, a symbol of love. And in the beautiful, late-day light, alone in my yard (but not ever really alone, for my yard is full of life; and inside, the Tabby was waiting), I felt content: this is my home, and in this very moment, I am happy. If this was all there ever were, it would have been enough.

The song to accompany this scene: Feels Like Home, sung by Dolly Parton, Emmylou Harris, and Linda Ronstadt, from their second Trio CD.

Additional Musical Note: When I post my blip entries, I often search YouTube for a particular song that I want to accompany the picture. For this photo, I knew I wanted something from one of the Trio CDs (I own both, and both are winners), and in my searching, I've come across some additional songs from these CDs that it would be a shame NOT to share. So today's bonus is a whole trio of additional songs, some from the first Trio CD and some from the second. Enjoy!

Telling Me Lies
High Sierra
After the Gold Rush


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.