"A TRAIN, A TRAIN!"

Us boys, from 2 to 102 never get over the thrill of seeing a train.
Things have changed a lot though since I was 2 (1950). The glory days of those great thundering steam engines is long gone, other than the odd opportunity to catch them on their historic runs around the country, or at enthusiast places like the Severn Railway.
This one is a goods train which, by UK standards, is quite long. I didn't have the time, or chance, to count the wagons but I've seen them going by before and they are often in excess of 40 or 50 wagons.
They can't compete with the likes of Australia or the U.S.A. though. When on the Route 66 trip (never miss a chance to mention that!) we were waiting around 20 minutes for a multi engined convoy that stretched well over a mile in length. See EXTRA where I switched off my engine while waiting. The Softail had the 107 Harley Davidson engine which used more fuel than the other bikes. We sometimes had to stop to refuel the softails while the other 'Glides' still had 1/4 of a tank.
The extra photo is between Las Vegas, Nevada, and Victorville, California. Probably around Barstow I would guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.