Trafalgar Falls, Mama

Yes we’re on the Island of Dominica. It is fifty years since LooseCanon spent time here as a student. He’s been going on to me about how wonderful it was for most of those fifty years. So here we are.
Barbados and Dominica couldn’t be more different from each other. 
Here it is mountainous very green and lush with jungle , rain forest and rivers and waterfalls.
At Trafalgar falls there are two different falls, Mama and Papa, this is Mama. After this we went to see the Titou  Gorge. The idea is you jump into a cold pool ( not all that cold if you’re used to swimming in Cornish seas), swim upstream through a gorge and clamber through a narrow rocky entrance to a spectacular waterfall. I failed on the last bit, just couldn’t get through the last gap. I was losing my water shoe, couldn’t put my feet down and was getting battered against the rocks. So I didn’t really see the final waterfall. Ah well, water and I just don’t really get along.
The third part of the day was spent at some hot springs, nice calm hot water. Very relaxing. 
All this was made so interesting by our guide and driver we hired for the day.
We shall both have similar photos today.
Of interest to Warwickshire blippers the extra is of a tiny village called Wotten Waven . Sounds remarkably similar to Wootton Wawen near Stratford.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.