Eldora19

By Eldora19

Migrations

Blip is of my current read, a story about an Irish woman in a not too distant future, where nearly all animals are extinct and she follows the last ever flock of terns on their final migration. It’s sad but very good. I just love Irish authors and stories and I am enjoying this book whilst I prepare for my own migration.

Today we took the trio to sgoil-àraich and on the way home Cannon dropped Jess and I off at my mum’s. I love going over to my mum’s on her days off when I’m child free, it feels like being a child. We’re sat under her electric blanket on the sofa drinking coffee and chatting for a couple of hours uninterrupted.
It was pouring with rain so mum gave me a lift back to the farm where I met Cannon and J unloading the hay lorry. They were just finishing and quite tired from it. Cannon and I went home for lunch and I made a proper start on my school search. I phoned 5 primary schools that told me they were all full to capacity and any application that was sent in would be rejected and go to appeals. I was just about to give up and start crying when I phoned a small catholic school 4 miles from our new place, miraculously they had places and encouraged me to apply which I will.
I had mixed feelings about sending S to a religious school initially. I was raised a Roman Catholic and went to fairly rigid and orthodox primary and secondary schools, the religious stuff was all a bit much for me but everything else about my education was the very best. I think S will be fine, she’s a bright girl and with my own experience I can help her to understand something that nobody explained to me at school - you don’t have to take everything you’re taught quite so literally.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.