Carolina's journal

By Carolina

Cienaga Bridge

I was despairing of even finding a bridge around here in the desert!  I looked up bridges near me and found this one that was only about 12 min away!  Joe and I drove over to this spot and spent about 15 min or so and got some decent pictures so I was really happy.  There are also hiking trails a few hundred yards down the street also.     Here is the info: 
 Ciénega Bridge is an open-spandrel arch bridge which crosses Ciénega Creek and the Union Pacific Railroad near VailArizona. Originally constructed in 1921, the bridge was part of U.S. Route 80, a major transcontinental highway, from 1926 to 1956. Being the oldest bridge of its kind in Arizona, the Ciénega Bridge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Currently, the bridge carries Marsh Station Road.
   Thank you to Jens photos for hosting this month along with Bob.   I will put the shot of the RR bridge in the extras as I was able to get a twofer one shot!!
  I believe that the RR bridge is the Marsh Station RR Bridge and used by El Paso and Southwestern RR, Southern Pacific and Union Pacific.    The Rincon Mountain range is seen in the background.
   Thanks to everyone that stops by and I will try and get to journals as I can this evening.   Thanks also for all the hearts and stars for the last several blips too!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.