McIvers Ladies Baths

It’s years since I’ve swum laps, but ocean pools have been on the radar for a while and early today I caught the 370 to McIvers Ladies Baths at Coogee. It’s a beautiful rock pool beneath the cliffs, with sloping paths, old wooden change cubicles facing the ocean, a sunroom for sunbathing (concrete platform, low walls, no roof), slippery steps down to the pool. Crabs, octopus, sea urchins. A very pale, very large young woman floated like a starfish in the dark water.

It’s only 33 metres long, but rather than attempt a lap I swam from one set of steps to another, a short diagonal. The temperature in was the same as out, 22C.

There’s no photography allowed, so I’ve merged a shot of Coogee surf life saving club with my 30+ year-old Speedos. Very pleased they didn’t disintegrate.

Thanks for hosting Ingeborg.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.