Ready to fly

The Egyptian Goose family is thriving and the juveniles are ready to fly. I posted a blip on the 9th November soon after they were born and how they have grown. I peeped over the wall of my neighbour where they are living, in true paparazzi style armed with my camera. They were all sitting on the grass, but when the male saw me (he's the one with the mark on his chest) he got up and led the ten juveniles to the pool where they jumped in one by one. Mother Goose went into the pool too. He then proceeded to fix me with a stare and make his raucous call! I took the hint and slipped away.
He went AWOL for a couple of days and A, in whose garden they are living, was worried as both parents are evidently needed to teach the youngsters to fly! He did return and has taken up his watch duty, usually on the roof of the house.
I hope when they learn to fly they will all survive.
After the extreme heat yesterday the weather has changed and it's rather windy. A few drops of rain have fallen, just enough to dirty the clean windows.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.