Lathyrus Odoratus

By lathyrus

Victoriana

I came across a most unusual stained glass window depicting a white Madonna lily on a pale blue background with white tracery looking like winter frost on a window. The lily is, of course, a symbol of purity and innocence (but also of rebirth and hope) and I assume this window is a memorial to a young child (Anne Katherine Pritchard), further suggested by the angel above. The inscription gives only a date of death (in 1878), so perhaps a still born infant. The window is almost hidden from the congregation as it is sited behind the pulpit and the organ. I had to remove several vases of flowers to get this image, as well as balancing myself over the organ keyboard. It proved completely impossible to photograph the right hand light, which is the same design. I have so far been unable to establish the designer or manufacturer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.