Crazy About Birds

By Kimb

Yellow-bellied Sapsucker

There's a tree behind the house - right outside the kitchen window - that is a favorite of several birds - most notably the yellow-bellied sapsuckers. I see them on the tree every winter (they breed much further north than here, but come south to us for the winter). Today I was pleased to see this one, because this is a juvenile! It looks like possibly a juvenile male, if the tiny dots of red on his head and throat are any indication of what his adult plumage will be. I looked out again a bit later - unfortunately on the phone, so I couldn't grab my camera - and saw him fighting with an adult male! It's intriguing to wonder how this juvenile wound up here for his first winter. Did he come with Dad?

And yes, sapsuckers are woodpeckers. They make a ring of holes around the trunks of the tree to extract sap. Then insects get stuck in the sap - which means other birds like to check out the holes as well. I see cardinals on the trunk of this tree a lot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.