Bookclub

I managed to have 2 Bookclub meetings on the same day today. My Sedbergh Wi had read Blackberry and Wild Rose, a story of life in the 1700’s. Silk weavers were being displaced by cotton and workers were striking. Sounds just like today!  The silk Master’s wife wanted to design her own silk patterns, and in the end she did. Her servant managed to escape from the clutches of evil people and escape with her daughter. I did enjoy it. My Camberley Bookclub also met today. We read Songbirds which was about the disappearance of a servant in Cyprus and the struggle to get anyone to take it seriously. The songbirds in the title are a problem in Mediterranean countries where they are illegally netted and killed either for their feathers or to eat. I enjoyed the story of the disappearance but not the murder of the songbirds.  I apologised for absence as I had made a mistake on the date in my diary. It was an easy choice to make as I had the Sedbergh lot coming to my house. I made chocolate fudge cake to go with our tea.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.