Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Moving about..

I have been trying all week to find something that I could blur the movement for the photo prompt in 52Frames.    This is one of my least favorite things to do...I like to blur a subject but not to stop the movement of things such as water where it looks all glassy.  It just does not appeal to me.     I like when a birds wing is blurry and the rest of the bird is in focus.   But of course no bird would be around where I could get this kind of photo.  

 Anyway, we went out to get some lunch as Jerry wanted to get out of the house to walk somewhere that was not here or the PT place.  So we grabbed some fish sandwiches and went to Gibson Pond.      He had a short walk along the pond bridge but I think it was just a little too soon for this much walking even hanging on to the walker.   He has been using the cane some in the house which is a good sign of growing steadier on the new knee. 

Anyway,  I took so many photos of the water falling over the spillway. Used every combination of shutter/iso/aperture that I could think of and some just using a low shutter speed.   Trashed every one of them.   There was a kayaker on the pond so I snapped a few shots of him in slow shutter speed also. He was a little far away for the lens that I had. Not exactly blurring the movement but this is as good as it gets today.   I still have two more days to get a blur the movement photo that does not blur the whole photo!   I did look up some tutorials, etc but I think because it does not appeal to me I just can't get my head around exactly what to do.  Not to mention a good subject.  

In other news I won the recliner war!!   We got a new chair for Jerry yesterday.   While he was at PT, I went to the furniture store nearby and sat in the chair that was on the sale flyer. It was awful.   So I sat in all the chairs along the row of recliners that were different and not rocker/recliners.   One was perfect.  The most comfortable chair I had ever sat in!  Double the price of the sale chair.   So I told the salesman I would be back with the hubby in a few minutes.    I told Jerry about the higher dollar chair but he was skeptical and said he would try the sale chair which was very similar to his old chair in style and shape.   He sat in it..I could see his face..No way.  Then he sat in the higher dollar chair.  He was not going to let me say I told you so as he hemmed and hawed about sitting in each chair and several others.   Finally he said he would get the better chair!  
I told him so!    They delivered it late yesterday (and he paid for this too!)   All that moaning and groaning he did!!

When I got ready to go upstairs to bed the man says.."I am sleeping downstairs on this chair..bring my pillow and a good blanket."   and he did.  Said he slept better than he had since he got  home from his surgery over a week ago.  Lots of naps happening too.  

I told him so!!    The old and new chair is in the extra. You can see how bad the chair is.    You know he would not let them take the old chair...it is going to the hunt camp man cave for him to use up there instead of the little sofa he has there.   It will probably fall apart when he gets able to move it onto the truck.   Men are weird.  

I know things and he just refuses to admit it!  

Have a great weekend blippers!  We are set to have two days of cold weather before it warms back up to mild...maybe instead of false spring we should have false winter here!   Hoping to get a hike in on Monday with some friends.  No PT that day!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.