Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Rainbow's End

I was somehow all prepared for another day of unremitting gloom, but when I dragged myself from sleep (I was very late last night - got engrossed in the latest (I think) - John le Carre - there was a pinkish tinge to the sky and the slightest hint of pale blue and it wasn't raining. Cheered by this, I leapt up and did the first of two loads of washing - it didn't dry at all outside, of course, before the rain returned, but it made me feel better - and clean forgot to make bread for lunch. 

After coffee, I made a long-awaited foray to the Oxfam shop with a bulky bag full of women's clothes that had all inexplicably become rather small, thereby freeing up a corner of my bedroom just as their removal from the wardrobe had freed up quite a bit of shelf space. They were taken from me by a charming young man with a sizeable silver ring in his nose - I couldn't resist asking him if it didn't drive him skelly-eyed seeing it, but he assured me that after fourteen years he didn't notice it. I did, however, make his nose very cold in cold weather, and when he had a cold he took it out. We parted cordially and I felt cheerier than I have in a while. 

Other deeds accomplished this morning? Well, I made an appointment for a dental check-up in February, and another for a facial massage from the sports physio because my jaw aches and I suspect it's tension. 

Later we went a walk at Toward; we got pretty soaked coming down the farm road, where we got a cheery wave  from a man driving a huge tractor dragging a trailer piled with bales and with a further two impaled on huge forks in from of him - we'd stopped and waited while he negotiated the bend up to the farm. We didn't fancy joining the impaled bales ...

We had Himself's curry for dinner and then watched, riveted, the new film of All Quiet on the Western Front.  It's not really an adaptation of the novel, but the production values are extremely high and the sound terrifying on multiple speakers (well, we have four, though they're getting on a bit). It's very telling, watching a film like this while there's a land war going on in Europe. And so we're going to be rather late abed, again.

Photo is of a fantastic rainbow that I saw when I went into my bedroom for something this morning - I've done absolutely nothing to enhance the colours. And friends of ours used to own a shop called Rainbow's End ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.