My Long Term Memory

By marinakari

Great crested grebe- Silkkiuikku

A delightfully elegant waterbird with ornate head plumes which led to its being hunted for its feathers, almost leading to its extermination from the UK. They dive to feed and also to escape, preferring this to flying. On land they are clumsy because their feet are placed so far back on their bodies. They have an elaborate courtship display in which they rise out of the water and shake their heads. Very young grebes often ride on their parents' backs.

As I mentioned yesterday, I found them nesting near shore in Kotka.
I took some photos of them also then, but it was quite late so all pictures are suffering from lack of light, since I had no tripod with me.
I just had to check them first thing in the morning. Weather was beautiful and clear, light was just right for colors. Sadly only another one was there at the moment ,nesting. I was on schedule, so had to leave before second one came back. Yesterday I got witness their graceful dance when they met again after a brief break.
Absolutely gorgeous bird, or what!

One thing was little upsetting there on shore. Yesterday I saw Tern couple nesting on a stone a little further away from the beach. I think they had eggs in nest, because  other bird delivered food to the one in nest. Today I saw in the same nest a Common Gull couple. Terns were apparently lost the battle about the nest against bigger birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.