Still Got The Blues Over You

On This Day In History
1981: Hill Street Blues begins its run

Quote Of The Day
"Hill Street Blues might have been the first television show that had a memory. One episode after another was part of a cumulative experience shared by the audience."
(Steven Bochco)

Bonus Quotes Of The Day
"Let's be careful out there."
(Sgt. Phil Esterhaus, Hill Street Blues)

"We are the dentists of society, fighting a losing battle against urban decay."
(Lt. Howard Hunter)

When I was younger, I could never understand why, in Britain, the tabloids and people in general so often complained about rubbish U.S. T.V shows. Most of my favourite shows were from the U.S. To this day, I would defy anyone to name a British T.V. show that could compare, on any level, with the exemplary Hill Street Blues. It's ensemble casting, with no single main protagonist or antagonist; actors chosen not for their good looks and charm but for their acting skill; multiple plot threads, sometimes intertwined, sometimes running in parallel; shaky, documentary-style camerawork; overlapping dialogue.

As groundbreaking as all of the above were, the main thing that shook me up about Hill Street Blues was the realisation that - shock! - not everybody in the U.S. lives in a big house, has a flashy car, has perfect teeth, perfect skin and perfect hair. (Veronica Hamel aside, of course.) It rains in America! There is squalor, litter and urban deprivation! People struggle to pay their bills! Things break down quite often. Even good cops can be tempted, and even submit, to breaking the rules. They are human, not heroes and villains. To a young man who thought CHiPs was fairly realistic for a while, and then Cagney And Lacey was practically kitchen-sink drama, this was a huge eye-opener. I don't think I missed watching a single episode after my brother turned me onto it a few episodes into Season One. Unfortunately, it began to slip in quality when the show focused too heavily on Dennis Franz's Lt. Norman Buntz, thereby losing its ensemble magic.

Anyway, yesterday I got the urge to draw a portrait of my favourite character from Hill Street Blues, Lt. Howard Hunter, played with so much warmth and humour by the not-seen-nearly-enough James B. Sikking. Judas Priest, though, I did feel sorry for the long suffering officer Valentine who, after so many seasons, broke down because his name is actually Ballantine.

I am now feeling an urge to draw my second favourite character, Sgt. Michael "Mick" Belker (grrrrrr!!!!!) If I do, I'll add it to the extras later. Now, let's remember why Hill Street Blues was so awesome and revel in its glorious theme tune.

Hill Street Blues pilot intro. and theme

Addendum
I added Lt. Michael "Mick" Belker. "Now move it, hairball!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.