The Fairy Steps

nr Beetham

I was surprised to find that no-one seems to stock Algon locally (I thought I’d got my last lot from B&Q but realised I must have got it on my last visit to Beetham nurseries). It’s a bit early for me to be thinking of seed potatoes but they are one of the few spots where you can pick and mix an assorted variety so I decided to combine both today.
It was a glorious day for a change so I decided to walk from Beetham to the Fairy Steps which, in all the years I’ve been here, I’ve never visited before … https://www.visitcumbria.com/sl/beetham-fairy-steps/
I had intended to walk on to the marble quarry but the footpath was a complete swamp so I backtracked and briefly got very excited thinking I’d found a new holy well but it’s a roadside shrine to St.Lioba (the early Saxon church at Beetham was originally dedicated to her … I like the sound of the beer and mushroom soup that is traditionally made on her saints day on 28 September). I then drove round to Arnside to go up the Knott which was glorious in the late sun.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.