Lowland Leader, Oxenhope

A w-i-l-d night on the moors tucked up in the van, gusts of 80kmh reported, and sleet that sounded like crashing rocks. Ace.

Woke to yuck, but with a distant hint of lovely, but my oh my cold air. Excellent. 

And what a place to start, crossing railway tracks, leaping Roe Deer, and wide open views as we strode out into Bronte Country. First time I've seen footpath signs in Japanese!

As you might expect on an Assessment we encountered some incidents that needed managing, decision that needed to be made and opportunities to make sure it was still a learning experience for the candidates.

Debriefs at the railway carriages cafe.... Pretty easy decision... 5/5 strong passes - woohoo.

As part of my own journey it's solidified my decision that this is absolutely the right qualification to be training our Volunteers for... I'd be more than happy to know any of today's new Lowland Leaders were out with our Wellness Walkers.

Epilogue
Today is that saddest of days -, it felt right to lose myself in others for a while, to take more steps down the road to being a better person, to giving more back. I can also appreciate the wonderfulness of spending a large part of it smiling. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.