Gifts of Grace

By grace

Jumble

Almost every shot I took today turned out to be jumbled. There were three guileless, simple shots that I liked but I guess in the end they had no emotional resonance.

Nearly a year ago my wonderful dentist moved on. His replacement was a brute of a man - everything he did during the check-up hurt. I told him one tooth was sensitive - he blew cold air on it. I left the practice.

I'm a bit fanatical about looking after my teeth and have been blessed with some great dentists in the past. The next one I tried was a young woman just starting out. She was so tentative I was uneasy during the check-up. On my next visit when she came towards me with the needle I heard a voice say 'I'm really sorry but I don't think I can let you do that' as my hand reached out to stop hers. Another one down.

Today I had an appointment with a third. Bad vibes from the start. Someone had thrown up in the close, the whole place looked shabby and disorganised. I sat there listening to some awful tinny pop music blaring from the radio for a good five minutes. I tried to stay, I really did. But it was all just too wrong. That voice again 'I'm sorry but I have to go.' Bewildered receptionist 'Do you want to make another appointment?' 'No' - cue fantasy 'Why not?' 'I don't like how this place SMELLS.'

Anyone know a good dentist?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.