Perth Railway Station

An all-day trip today to a conference at Dunblane Hydro. The best part of the whole day was a change of trains at Perth on the way home: the 20 minute wait for my connecting train gave me ample time to wander among the fading grandeur of the Inverness-bound platforms on the western side of William Tite's magnificent railway station.

I clearly remember the first time I alighted at Perth and wandered unsuspectingly into this part of the station, under its magnificent wrought iron & glass roof. I was awestruck: all I had seen of the station prior to this were the simple outdoor platforms on the Dundee side that I had passed through a number of times on trips to & from Glasgow.

It's hard to capture the feel of this vast covered space in a single, still, shot. It feels a little dusty but not in any kind of neglect or disrepair. It's still served by trains to & from Inverness throughout the day, although between trains it's calm and deserted.

I could almost imagine that if I waited a little longer, the vast crowds it was built to serve during the 'age of steam' might start to arrive once more in time for an early evening departure...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.