Travels With 4 Wheel Fred

By HRGibbon

Kingcups

On my home today I saw this huge patch of... well, I call them Kingcups or Marsh Marigold, but I think what you call them depends on where you are, where you've come from and maybe where you're going.

So for the sake of identification they are Caltha palustris and they are very happy to be living in a little soggy area above the river, with their feet in about 3inches of water and with some nice dappled shade provided by what I think are Alder trees.

They must be happy as they cover a good 7m x 2.5m area if not a bit more... unfortunately there is a hedge in the way so I couldn't get a good photo of them en masse.

Discovered that my neighbour and I must have some sort of telepathic link. As I drove home, past her house this evening I thought "I wonder if she's in, I'll go round and see her for a cup of tea after I've had my supper".

Had supper and as I just put my fork down, she walked past the window, coming to see me for a cup of tea. Considering we haven't seen each other for a chat for about a month, I thought it was quite a coincidence we both had the same idea on the same day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.